instagram envelope_alt facebook twitter search youtube_play whatsapp remove external_link loop2 arrow-down2

Geraint Thomas and Dina Asher-Smith the big winners at media awards

TOUR de France winner Geraint Thomas and triple European champion Dina Asher-Smith were yesterday named Sportsman and Sportswoman of the year at the SJA British Sports Awards.

Welshman Thomas (top) clinched his first Tour victory in July.

He tweeted after his award: ‘It’s been a pretty good week. Thanks guys.’

Asher-Smith (below) won gold in the 100metres, 200m and 4x100m relay in Berlin.

Team of the Year went to the England netball team following their historic victory over hosts Australia to win Commonwealth Games gold in April.

Steve Williams, the PE teacher who nurtured Thomas, Gareth Bale and Sam Warburton at Whitchurch High School in Cardiff, received the JL Manning Award for services to sport off the field.

England cricketer Sam Curran, 20, collected the Peter Wilson Trophy for international newcomer, while five-time Formula One world champion Lewis Hamilton won the Chairman’s Award.